3. Chamber Music Concert


Works by Dmitri Schostakowitsch, Arvo Pärt and Mieczysław Weinberg
Dmitri Shostakovich Piano Trio No. 2 E-Minor op. 67
Arvo Pärt Fratres for String Quartet
Mieczysław Weinberg Piano Quintet op. 18

Friendship in times of political unrest not only gives hope and strength, but also courage. It was a lucky coincidence that Dmitri Shostakovich and Mieczysław Weinberg came together after the latter had fled the German Wehrmacht twice - first under dramatic circumstances from his hometown Warsaw to Minsk, then to the Uzbek capital Tashkent. Here he created his 1st symphony, which ended up in the hands of the revered master, Shostakovich, via detours. Impressed by the talent of the younger colleague, he helped Weinberg obtain a residence permit in Moscow. Only one year later, in 1944, the works of this chamber concert were composed, both of which are characterized by profundity and passionate intensity. Their friendship was finally put to the test in 1953 when Weinberg was arrested for his Jewish origins. Shostakovich, who himself was a victim of the repressive cultural policy of Stalinism, took an enormous risk when he addressed a petition to the head of the secret service. But only the death of Stalin could lead to his release. They are connected by the deeply moving piece "Fratres" by the Estonian composer Arvo Pärt.

With Kathrin Scheytt, Marion Schäfer, Madeleine Przybyl, Zoltan Paulich, Jewgeni Schuk, Evgeny Popov, Alexander Akimov, Vache Bagratuni
Piano Petra Menzel

To pre-order tickets, fill out the form and send it by email to tickets@staatstheater-stuttgart.de, by post to Staatstheater Stuttgart / Kartenservice / Postfach 10 43 4570038 Stuttgart or by fax to 0711.20 20 920