5. Chamber Music Concert

Between baroque and modern

Works by Johann Paul Schiffelholz, Heinrich Iganz Franz von Biber, Igor Strawinsky and Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga
Johann Paul Schiffelholz Trio for two bassoons and basso continuo
Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber Sonata a 3 for trombone, 2 violins and continuo
Igor Strawinsky Woodwind oktet
Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga String quartet No. 2 D minor

Igor Stravinsky's intensive study of 18th-century music gave rise to a number of neoclassical works, such as his ballet Pulcinella. The Wind Octet of 1923 is one of the earliest examples of his neoclassicism. With his innovative musical language, Stravinsky surprised Parisian audiences who had expected him to produce brutal, boisterous sounds like those in Le Sacre du printemps. In this concert, the octet encounters a classical string quartet by Juan Crisóstomo de Arriaga, who was considered the "Spanish Mozart", as well as two baroque works: the Sonata a tre by the Bohemian-born violin virtuoso Heinrich Ignaz von Biber and the Trio for two bassoons and basso continuo by Johann Paul Schiffelholz, who was choir director at the Liebfrauenmünster in Ingolstadt for over 50 years. Schiffelholz was not only an excellent violinist and composer, but also an impressive appearance with his large allonge wig, his red coat with golden clasps and tassels and a rapier.
With Kathrin Scheytt, Lilian Scheliga, Alexander Akimov, Zoltan Paulich, Sebastian Mangold, Christian Hammerer, Lennard Czakaj, Andreas Spannbauer u. a.
Harpsichord Alan Hamilton

There will be an introduction 30 minutes before the concert at Mozartsaal.

Mar 2024
https://www.staatsoperstuttgart.de Staatsoper Stuttgart Oberer Schloßgarten 6, 70173 Stuttgart

Liederhalle, Mozartsaal
16 €