5. Chamber Music Concert

Northern Lights

Works by Pēteris Vasks, Niels Gade, Trygve Madsen and Carl Nielsen
Pēteris Vasks Music for Fleeting Birds
Niels Gade Noveletten for piano trio op. 29
Trygve Madsen Trio for horn, violin, piano op. 110
Carl Nielsen Wind quintet op. 43

In the touching piece Music for Fleeting Birds, written in 1977 for wind quintet, the Latvian composer Pēteris Vasks gives nature a voice, as he does in many of his other works. Some of the sounds are reminiscent of the calls of migratory birds flying away, heralding the darkness and cold of winter in Latvia. Niels Gade, one of the most important Danish composers of the Romantic period, who was a close friend of Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy and Robert Schumann, follows. The latter recognized a "decidedly distinct Nordic character" in Gade’s music. His novelettes for piano trio were particularly popular among lovers of sophisticated domestic music. Carl Nielsen, one of Gade's students, whose wind quintet from 1922 forms the conclusion of the concert, was also known as the "Danish Strauss" due to his symphonic works. The Trio by Trygve Madsen, one of Norway’s most versatile contemporary composers, whose music is also influenced by jazz, blends in between the two Danish composers.
With Julia Köhl, Nadine Bauer, Frank Bunselmeyer, Christina Becker, Susanne Wichmann, Alexandra Taktikos, Reimer Kühn,
Evgeny Popov, Zoltan Paulich et al.
Piano Sonia Achkar, Michael Kuhn

There will be an introduction 30 minutes before the concert at Mozartsaal.

Wed, February 12, 2025 19:30 h
Feb 2025
https://www.staatsoperstuttgart.de Staatsoper Stuttgart Oberer Schloßgarten 6, 70173 Stuttgart

Liederhalle, Mozartsaal
16 €
Musiker*innen des Staatsorchesters Stuttgart