6. Chamber Music Concert

From duet to polyphony

Works by Johann Nepomuk Hummel, Gioachino Rossini, Ivan Danko and Antonín Dvořák
Johann Nepomuk Hummel Octet-Partita E flat major
Gioachino Rossini Duetto D major for violoncello and double bass
Ivan Danko Jenseits (world premiere)
Antonín Dvořák Serenade for woodwind, violoncello and double bass, op. 44

Inspired by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's wind serenades, which he had heard during a concert visit to Vienna in 1877, Antonín Dvořák composed his Serenade op. 44 within only 14 days. With this work, he paid homage to Mozart's Gran Partita, written for 12 winds and double bass. Dvořák used 10 winds for his Serenade and combined the double bass with a violoncello. Ivan Danko, principal oboist of the Staatsorchester Stuttgart, wrote his work Jenseits for the same instrumentation, which receives its world premiere in this concert. Like Ivan Danko, Mozart's pupil Johann Nepomuk Hummel also comes from Bratislava. And he too found his way to Stuttgart, where he worked as court conductor from 1816 to 1818. His Octet was composed in 1803, shortly before he was appointed concertmaster at the court of Prince Esterházy on the recommendation of Joseph Haydn. Between the large-scale wind pieces, the violoncello and double bass make a joint appearance: with the duet by Gioachino Rossini written in 1824, which gives a hint of Italian opera buffa.
With Ivan Danko, Katrin Stüble, Frank Bunselmeyer, Stefan Jank, Sebastian Mangold, Christina Becker, Philipp Römer, Vache Bagratuni, Lars Jakob u. a.

There will be an introduction 30 minutes before the concert at Mozartsaal.

Jun 2024
https://www.staatsoperstuttgart.de Staatsoper Stuttgart Oberer Schloßgarten 6, 70173 Stuttgart

Liederhalle, Mozartsaal
16 €