1. Chamber Music Concert

In the rush of sounds

Works by Franz Schubert and John Adams
Franz Schubert String quintet C major, D 956
John Adams Shaker Loops for string septett

The musicians of the Staatsorchester Stuttgart open the series of chamber concerts in the Liederhalle with a key work of chamber music: the String Quintet in C major by Franz Schubert. This boundary-breaking opus was written just a few months before his death in 1828. Lively sounds are mixed with dark and eerie ones, possibly referring to Schubert's situation at the time: The 31-year-old was seriously ill, poor and oppressed by feelings of unfulfilled longing and hopelessness. The emotional contrasts in his quintet lead to extremes in sound and dynamics. The Adagio, one of the most expressive movements of the Romantic period, is of unearthly beauty. Also moving, albeit in a very different way, is the piece Shaker Loops, a masterpiece of minimal music from 1978 by the US composer John Adams. Repetitive loops to the point of ecstasy and impulsive rhythms cast a spell over the listener. In addition to the trembling of the instrumental strings, the title also refers to the religious community of the Shakers, who used to get into a frenzy with a ritual shaking dance.
With Gustavo Surgik, Holger Koch, Daniel Schwartz, Laurens Groll, Olivier Mager, Veronika Unger, Lilian Scheliga, Kirsten Frantz, Philipp Körner, Manuel Schattel

There will be an introduction 30 minutes before the concert at Mozartsaal.

Oct 2023
https://www.staatsoperstuttgart.de Staatsoper Stuttgart Oberer Schloßgarten 6, 70173 Stuttgart

Liederhalle, Mozartsaal
Stuzubis 7 € already on presale!