3. Symphony Concert

Cornelius Meister / Emmanuel Tjeknavorian

Jean Sibelius, Igor Stravinsky
Jean Sibelius Violin Concerto in D minor op.47
Igor Stravinsky Le sacre du printemps

Ecstatic, barbaric, provocative: Igor Stravinsky's ballet “Le sacre du printemps” hit Paris like a bomb in 1913 and caused one of the greatest scandals in music history. With unprecedented brutality, Stravinsky set his vision of a pagan celebration to music, from the worship of the earth to the dance of a young girl who was chosen to be cruelly sacrificed. The unleashed energy of Stravinsky's music found its counterpart in the choreography of the “Ballets Russes”. Long discovered as a brilliant bravura piece for the concert hall, Stravinsky's score is now considered a modern classic. Only a few years before Stravinsky's scandal, far away from major European cities, the Finnish composer Jean Sibelius was working on his violin concerto. After the unsuccessful premiere, he withdrew to his rural Villa Ainola to give the work clearer lines. The beginning is already poignant: the crystal-clear melody of the solo violin rises above a magical soundscape of the strings, reminiscent of the lonely expanses of Scandinavia. Emmanuel Tjeknavorian, the youngest “Artist in Residence” of the Wiener Musikverein, takes on the highly virtuoso solo part.
Violin Emmanuel Tjeknavorian
Conductor Cornelius Meister
Staatsorchester Stuttgart

To pre-order tickets, fill out the form and send it by email to tickets@staatstheater-stuttgart.de, by post to Staatstheater Stuttgart / Kartenservice / Postfach 10 43 4570038 Stuttgart or by fax to 0711.20 20 920