7. Chamber Music Concert

Between Vienna and Budapest

Works by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and
Béla Bartók
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Quintet E flat major KV 452
Béla Bartók Romanian folk dances for flute and percussion
Béla Bartók Piano quintet C major

After the premiere of his Quintet in E flat major at the Burgtheater in Vienna in 1784, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart wrote to his father Leopold that the new work received "extraordinary acclaim" and added: "I myself consider it to be the best thing I have written in my life." Free from any genre traditions, he achieved a congenial success with the innovative combination of four wind instruments and a piano. Mozart uses the five instruments, whose voices are closely interwoven, in a very nuanced manner. The Piano quintet by Hungarian composer Béla Bartók also premiered in Vienna, albeit 120 years later. Shortly before, he had completed his composition studies with Brahms’ friend Hans Koessler in Budapest. In addition to the clear influence of Johannes Brahms, some of Bartók’s individual traits can also be recognized in this late Romantic work, such as the tonal steps and rhythms derived from Hungarian folk music, which are characteristic of his later style. Between the two quintets, Bartók’s captivating Romanian Folk Dances can be heard in a version for flute and percussion.
With Ivan Danko, Stefan Jank, Philipp Römer, Sebastian Mangold, Julia Köhl, Alexander Akimov, Zoltan Paulich et al.
Piano Polina Jakovleva, Julia Brusentsova

There will be an introduction 30 minutes before the concert at Mozartsaal.

Wed, April 16, 2025 19:30 h

Apr 2025
https://www.staatsoperstuttgart.de Staatsoper Stuttgart Oberer Schloßgarten 6, 70173 Stuttgart

Liederhalle, Mozartsaal
16 €
Musiker*innen des Staatsorchesters Stuttgart