1. Chamber Music Concert

New World

Works by Erich Wolfgang Korngold, Antonín Dvořák and André Previn
Erich Wolfgang Korngold Piano Trio D-Major op. 1
Antonín Dvořák String Quintet Eb-Major op. 97
André Previn Trio for Oboe, Bassoon and Piano

Overwhelmed by the sight of the Statue of Liberty and the many ships in New York's Harbor, Antonín Dvořák arrived in the New World in 1892. As Director of the National Conservatory of Music in New York, Dvořák was to develop an American style of music. Whether his string quintet in E flat major is really “American” remains speculation. What is certain, however, is that Czech music and the way of life were particularly close to him during the composition of that string quintet. The work was created during his summer vacation in Spillville, a settlement of Czech immigrants in Iowa. While the New World was a lucrative adventure for Dvořák, it was a place of refuge for Erich Wolfgang Korngold and André Previn. Because of their Jewish roots, they were forced to emigrate in the 1930s. Both of them won Oscars for their film music, but the dazzling world of Hollywood was gradually losing its appeal. While Previn was able to make a name for himself as a conductor and composer for the concert hall, Korngold tried in vain to build upon his great successes in Europe. The former child prodigy, who made a remarkable debut at the age of 13 with his piano trio in D major, had been forgotten in the Old World.

With Muriel Bardon, Doris Erdmann, Veronika Unger, Lilian Scheliga, Daniel Schwartz, Philipp Körner, Manuel Schattel, Ivan Danko, Ulrich Hermann
Piano Yujin Bae, Andrej Jussow

Um 19:00 Uhr findet eine Einführung im Mozartsaal statt.
To pre-order tickets, fill out the form and send it by email to tickets@staatstheater-stuttgart.de, by post to Staatstheater Stuttgart / Kartenservice / Postfach 10 43 4570038 Stuttgart or by fax to 0711.20 20 920