4. Chamber Music Concert


Works by Edvard Grieg, Pavel Haas and Dave Anderson
Edvard Grieg String quartet G minor, op. 27
Dave Anderson Seven Double Bass Duets
Pavel Haas String quartet No. 2 Von den Affenbergen with drum kit, op. 7

Instead of Maurice Ravel's duo for violin and cello, Dave Andersons Seven Double Bass Duets will be performed. In this concert, the duets are framed by two string quartets. In Pavel Haas' String Quartet No. 2, in which percussion is added, clear jazz elements can be heard. The work was written after a trip to the so-called Moravian "monkey mountains". He wrote: "This whole carefree work is dominated by the impulse of movement - either the steady rhythm of the open landscape and birdsong, or the irregular rumble of village carts, the warm beating of the human heart, the cold play of moonlight or the wild end of a boisterous night". Nature was also an important source of inspiration for the Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg. He composed his String Quartet in G minor in 1877 in the Hardanger region, surrounded by picturesque fjords and majestic waterfalls.
With Veronika Unger, Lilian Scheliga, Daniel Schwartz, Philipp Körner, Nicola Lolli, Jan Melichar, Olivier Marger, Christoph Wiedmann, Alexander Kirn, Marc Strobel u. a.

There will be an introduction 30 minutes before the concert at Mozartsaal.

Feb 2024
https://www.staatsoperstuttgart.de Staatsoper Stuttgart Oberer Schloßgarten 6, 70173 Stuttgart

Liederhalle, Mozartsaal