6. Chamber Music Concert

Night of Dance

Works by Erwin Schulhoff, Albert Roussel, Joseph Haydn, Bohuslav Martinů, Vincent d’Indy, Claude Debussy and Gordon Davies
Erwin Schulhoff Five pieces for string quartet
Albert Roussel Divertissement op.6
Joseph Haydn String Quartet in G major op.77 No. 1
Bohuslav Martinů La Revue de Cuisine, ballet for six instruments
Vincent d’Indy Sarabande et Minuet op. 24bis
Claude Debussy / Gordon Davies Petite Suite for wind quintet

From the Viennese waltz to the tango: Erwin Schulhoff's Five Pieces for String Quartet from 1923 hit the pulse of his time. For the Czech composer, who himself had an “unheard-of passion” for dances and absorbed various modern trends like a sponge, jazz also played a decisive role. A few years later, he inspired his compatriot Bohuslav Martinů to write his jazz ballet “La Revue de Cuisine”, a turbulent love story between the pot, the lid and other people in the kitchen. The humorous work was created during his time in Paris, the most important center of the artistic avant-garde. Here Martinů completed his studies with Albert Roussel, who in turn had learned his trade with Vincent d'Indy. The latter was far removed from modern developments and preferred to pay homage to two baroque dances with “Sarabande et Minuet”. The minuet not only found its way into the instrumental forms of the Viennese classic, such as in Haydn's string quartet, but also fascinated the impressionist Claude Debussy. With the minuet of his Petite Suite, he recalls the gallant court parties of the past, before the suite culminates in a lively ballet with the character of a waltz.
To pre-order tickets, fill out the form and send it by email to tickets@staatstheater-stuttgart.de, by post to Staatstheater Stuttgart / Kartenservice / Postfach 10 43 4570038 Stuttgart or by fax to 0711.20 20 920